蓝宝石的工业应用

2022/05/28 16:18

虽然蓝宝石是高度令人满意的,称为珠宝中使用的贵重宝石,但它也有许多商业利用方式,以达到其一流的机械,光学,热,电和化学性能。人工制造蓝宝石的方法在一百多年前就已经取得了进步,随着尖端的进步使得更好的大蓝宝石能够更加一致地生产,经济计划仍然增加。

制作蓝宝石的方法

蓝宝石是由氧化铝(Al2O3)制成的晶体。矿物名称是刚玉。纯刚玉是无色透明的,但微量的杂质可以使其具有红色,蓝色,黄色或粉红色的色调。深红色的刚玉被称为红宝石,而其他颜色通常被称为蓝宝石。人造的刚玉,除红色(包括无色和透明)以外的任何颜色的刚玉都被称为蓝宝石。

法国化学家奥古斯特·韦尔讷伊 (Auguste Verneuil) 于 1881 年开发了一种合成蓝宝石的方法,并于 1902 年公布。在Verneuil方法中,氧化铝功率在炉子中加热到2000°C,以产生Al2O3的雾状液滴。然后将炉子缓慢冷却,以使Al2O3积聚在炉内的蓝宝石晶种颗粒上。在Verneuil的时代,使用这种方法生产出10-15克拉的蓝宝石晶体大约需要3个小时。

在此之后,蓝宝石的优异性能引起了工业用途的关注。随着对合成蓝宝石需求的增加,新的制造方法被开发出来,如柴可拉斯基、Kyropoulos、坩埚和EFG方法。在EFG方法中,可以选择任何晶体取向。这意味着可以根据需要生产C平面,r平面,a平面或m平面晶体。该方法具有快速的生长速率,并产生高度均匀的晶体。

Industrial applications of sapphire

2022/05/28 16:18

Although sapphire is high-satisfactory called a valuable stone utilized in jewelry, it additionally has many commercial makes use of way to its first rate mechanical, optical, thermal, electrical, and chemical properties. Methods to artificially manufacture sapphire had been advanced over a hundred years ago, and as cutting-edge advances have allowed better great sapphire to be produced extra consistently, the economic programs retain to increase.

Methods of creating sapphire

Sapphire is a crystal made of aluminum oxide (Al2O3). The mineral name is corundum. Pure corundum is colorless and transparent but tiny amounts of impurities can give it a red, blue, yellow, or pink hue. Corundum that is dark red is known as a ruby, while other colors are often called sapphire. Artificially created corundum of any color except red (including colorless and transparent) is known as sapphire.

A method to synthesize sapphire was developed by the French chemist, Auguste Verneuil, in 1881 and publicized in 1902. In the Verneuil method, aluminum oxide power is heated to 2000 deg C in a furnace to create mist-like droplets of Al2O3. The furnace is then cooled slowly to allow the Al2O3 to accumulate on a seed sapphire particle inside the furnace. In Verneuil’s time, it took about 3 hours to produce 10 – 15 carats of sapphire crystal using this method.

Following this, sapphire’s excellent properties gained attention for industrial use. As demand for synthetic sapphire increased, new manufacturing methods, such as the Czochralski, Kyropoulos, crucible, and EFG methods, were developed. In the EFG method, any crystal orientation can be selected. This means c-plane, r-plane, a-plane, or m-plane crystals can be produced as needed. This method has a fast growth rate and produces highly homogeneous crystals.